Annapolis, Maryland, Maryland

The Maryland State House – Where The Annapolis Convention Issued A Call Which Led To A “Convention Of States” For Ratifying The U.S. Constitution

The Maryland State House, which was built during the British Colonial Era, served as the Maryland legislature and as the capital of the United States during the course of the Revolutionary War. At the end of the war, Congress ratified the “Treaty of Paris” and appointed Thomas Jefferson as a minister.

On September 14, 1786, the Annapolis Convention called for a, “Convention of States” to ratify the proposed United States Constitution.

Painting of the, “Annapolis Convention” in 1786.
Annapolis, Maryland

The Founding Of Annapolis, Maryland

In 1649, Puritan exiles from the Providence of Virginia, led by the third Proprietary Governor William Stone, established the town of “Providence” within the Province of Maryland. Providence was founded on the north shore of the Severn River on the middle Western Shore of the Chesapeake Bay. The areas around Providence would eventually be referred to as Lord Baltimore’s wife with the name “Anne Arundel’s Towne”. The town was a cultural epicenter and was referred to as the, “Athens of America”. In modern times the city was renamed as Annapolis.

The oldest existing government building in the state of Maryland is the “Old Treasury Building” across the Maryland State House in Annapolis. The treasury was built in 1735.