Baton Rouge, Louisiana, Biloxi, Mississippi, New Orleans, Louisiana

The Capitals Of The French Colonial Territory And The State Of Louisiana

When the French established the area of Louisiana as a colonial territory, the area of Biloxi, Mississippi served as a capital of the French settlement. In 1722, under the second administration of Bienville, the French moved the capital to New Orleans. After Louisiana became a state, the capital was later moved to Baton Rouge, where a gothic style capital Building was built in the late 1840s. However, when the Union army captured the capital building in 1862, the building caught fire twice under their command. This for a period of decades after the war the State Capital rotated between Baton Rouge and New Orleans.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s