The Four Capitals of Mississippi

Texada – Is believed to be the oldest brick building in Natchez, Mississippi. Texada served as a meeting place for the state legislature during the early years of statehood.

The town of Natchez was established as the capital of the Territory of Mississippi. The first capital of the state of Mississippi was the city of Washington. The second capital of the State was actually back in Natchez. The third capital of the state was in Columbus. The fourth and final capital of the state was established in Jackson.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s