The Capitals Of Alabama

Alabama’s first state capital building in Cahaba.

Alabama has had five capitals during its history as a territory and as a state. The first was the territorial capital in Saint Stephens in 1817, followed by the state convention in Huntsville in 1819, then the first “permanent” capital in Cahaba in 1820.

The state house building in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.

It was then moved to Tuscaloosa in 1826, until coming to rest in Montgomery in 1846.

Photograph of the Montgomery Capital building.

Author’s Note:

The “New France” settlement of La Mobile, which is in the present day city of Mobile, Alabama, used to serve as the capital of the French Louisiana Territory from 1702 to 1711.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s