Governor Frank Brown

Frank Brown – The Only Carroll County Resident To Be Elected As Governor

Historical Society of Carroll County’s photograph of Governor Frank Brown.

Carroll County, Maryland was created by the state legislature in 1837 by appropriating segments of the Baltimore and Frederick Counties. Carroll County was named for Charles Carroll of Carrollton, the last surviving signer of the American Declaration of Independence.

Frank Brown was the only individual from Carroll County, Maryland to be elected as Governor of Maryland for a single term from 1892 to 1896.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s