José María Morelos y Pavón, Stockton, California

José María Morelos y Pavón – Author Of “Sentiments Of A Nation”

José María Morelos y Pavón was the author of the political text “Sentimientos de la Nación“, which is known in English as “Feelings Of A Nation”, during his time as the leader of the Mexican Independence Movement. The political text was written in 1811 and instrumental during José María Morelos y Pavón‘s forces fight against the Spanish colonial military.

A statue in honor of the former Mexican military leader stands in Stockton, California.

Captain Charles M. Weber, Stockton, California

Captain Charles Weber – The Founder Of Stockton

Captain Charles M. Weber was a German immigrant who moved to California to profit from the Gold Rush. Weber decided that peroxiding services to gold miners was more profitable than bring a miner. Therefore he moved south of the gold mines and founded the town of Stockton in 1849.

In present day the site of Captain Charles M. Weber’s former home is called Weber Point in downtown Stockton.

Oakland, California

Construction Of The Paramount Theatre

The Paramount Theatre had a groundbreaking ceremony on December 11, 1930 and constructed until mid 1931.

A large steel beam had to be moved two to three blocks at a time. The beam was so heavy, that it could not be transported by conventional means out of concern the weight could damage the streets in downtown Oakland.

Author’s Note:

Philip Hamilton first visited this theatre during comedian Tyler Perry’s, “Madea’s Farewell Play Tour”.